What is the meaning of life? What is our purpose on earth?

I dug into the conclusion of Sam Harris’s book, Waking Up: A guide to Spirituality Without Religion, for those questions. They’re common. Religious people of all sorts use them to challenge nonbelievers because they are so esoteric and intended to flummox. There are others with the same intent. Religious folks think, no god means no meaning or purpose. Interestingly, people who do not believe in any gods see it in the opposite way, particularly regarding religion.

No one need answer such questions, but we certainly may. I personally would enjoy such a discussion with almost anyone. If my life has no meaning or purpose, just WTF have I been doing for the past six decades?

Questions like this remind me of memorizing the answers in the Baltimore Catechism during early elementary school. Two relatable questions from that book are:

Question 6: Why did God make you?
Answer: God made me to know Him, to love Him, and to serve Him in this world, and to be happy with Him for ever (sic) in heaven. (life’s meaning?)

Question 9: What must we do to save our souls?
Answer: To save our souls, we must worship God by faith, hope, and charity; that is, we must believe in Him, hope in Him, and love Him with all our heart. (life’s purpose?)

Catholic grade school children had to memorize the questions and answers word for word and were given grades on the subject.

I would paraphrase a quote often inaccurately attributed to St. Francis of Assisi, Preach the gospel. When necessary use words. There is no evidence that he ever said that, but it is a good point whoever said it.

I also like a phrase that writers attempt to apply – show, don’t tell. I cannot change the world, what other people think, or undo the past. But I can (for the most part) choose my behavior and actions. I hope you understand my meaning and purpose.

For both the meaning and purpose of life, we must live into our personal meaning and each of us create our own purpose by making the one life we have something of greater value. I think we should be caring with nature and other people. We should embrace life’s natural compassion, charity, community, and contemplation. We don’t need religion or a god for that. In my opinion, they get in the way of thinking.

As nihilistic as that sounds, reality is not subjective but how we interact with it is.

Nobody knows all the answers. What’s the meaning and purpose of life? I have my thoughts … so do you. I create my purpose of life and it is to live the best life I can. If you need more than that, good luck. Questions about life’s meaning should be multiple-choice. I feel like the meanings of my life are the same as they’ve always been. It has nothing to do with any god and never has regardless of what the Catechism said.

Philosophically, there are people who make the claim that life has no purpose and is meaningless (i.e., nihilists). Yet, those people go on living for some reason. I wonder why. Maybe their purpose is to run around telling everyone else how meaningless it is. I disagree even though many inside-the-box believers insist that such claims to meaning and purpose without god and religion are pointless.

If other people need god or religion to give their life purpose or meaning, who am I to take away their crutch? I know from my experiences with reading and talking to others that admitting the truth about god and religion changes little about life’s purpose and meaning. In many cases, life becomes more meaningful within the reality of this one life and this one world, right here, right now.

And if you are up to it—-

8 thoughts on “What is the meaning of life? What is our purpose on earth?

  1. My mantra is I am here to enjoy my life. Surely that alone is a purpose.
    Adult me thinks Sunday School me was taught a lot about some old white narcissist who was still trying to capitalize on a bunch of prior achievements like one of those middle-aged guys who still prides himself on his high school track record because he’s done nothing since.
    Also, this made me laugh, “Maybe their purpose is to run around telling everyone else how meaningless it is.” I don’t understand the nihilists. I don’t need them to be activists, I’m not trying to sell them hope, but I can’t relate to them at all. Well, that’s not true, I relate to several of them, on other levels, just not philosophically.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Each and every one of us have a purpose, but we must find our own purposes in the course of life. Life is a great school and sometimes we are so lost that we are not able to identify the signs that life shows us. When we forget to look inside of us, we give importance only to external events, thus life really become meaningless. I talk about it in one of my blogs: https://gamesandall.blog/2019/05/30/spiritual-health-benefits-review/

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Me too. Harris talks about the flaws of the questions in his book. We needn’t answer them, but I do like to see it the way you said in your last comment.

      Like

  2. I like what you’ve said here a lot, Bill. I especially like the last sentence: “In many cases, life becomes more meaningful within the reality of this one life and in this world, right here, right now”. I am thankful to be alive, I’m happy to be able to experience this world and universe, to the extent that I can. I’m thankful for the good things that have happened in my life, for my family and friends. I think I can be thankful for all of those things without “Thanking God”, because I don’t believe in a “being” named “God” who’s there to thank. I think we, as individuals and humanity as a group give whatever meaning to our lives that’s important. I think I’m saying pretty much what Joseph Campbell said in your quote

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a comment